How is ABI classified into mild, moderate or severe?

ABI classification is based on the length of time a person is unconscious, the presence of memory loss or post-traumatic amnesia (PTA), and the Glasgow Coma score:

TBI Classification Loss of consciousness Memory loss or PTA Glasgow Coma Score
Mild/concussion None — less than 30 min. Lasting less than 24 hrs. 13 – 15
Moderate More than 30 min., but less than 24 hrs. Lasting 24 hrs up to 7 days 9 – 12
Severe More than 24 hrs. Lasting 7 days of more 8 or less

What is the Glasgow Coma Scale?

The Glasgow Coma Scale is used in the emergency room and intensive care. It measures level of awareness, how bad the brain injury is and coma level. There are three things are looked at:

– eye opening

– amount of movement

– speech ( making sounds)

Scores can range from low of 3 to a high of 15. As the person comes out of coma, the score goes up. A score of 9 or more means the person is no longer in coma.